IT AIN’T OVER: SILICON PROBLEMS

Posted: May 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

OK, so apparently the generous amount of silicon utilized in the gasket installation is a big “NO NO”.  I’ve received recommendations from several model a engine experts that I should remove and reinstall the valve cover and probably the oil pan.  They recommend that redo installing both with MUCH LESS (if not no) sealant.  I may wind up ordering new gaskets tomorrow (you don’t reuse them and regardless, they are cheap).   The good news is that it looks like I did all other things correctly.   I guess I may have another chance to check the bearings clearance.  The question now is about timing.  I don’t know how much time I have to do all of this.

Leave a Reply

